My Poop on New Motherhood

My misguided views of being a new mother

I’m a Catalog Whore, And a Magazine Whore, And a Sales Flyer Whore… September 5, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — nothingbutthepoop @ 11:21 am

I admit it.  I can’t live without caffeine and I LOVE catalogs – all sorts of catalogs.  I used to have a pretty important job where I would get all sorts of mail from vendors trying to get my attention with samples and the equivalent to tradeshow trinkets.  It was a lot of fun and I got some really cool things.  Then I became a SAHM.  Then the vendors didn’t know where to find me or really care at that point since I was no longer a decision maker in their arena.  The bulk of my mail became credit card offers.  And really, they’re no fun.  I became mail lonely.  I started my addiction with a subscription to Parenting Magazine, then found free subscriptions to Baby Talk and American Baby Magazines.  Then another paid subscription to Parents Magazine.  Then I went crazy – requesting baby safety catalogs, beading catalogs, Ikea catalogs, clothing catalogs of stuff I will NEVER wear.  Why do I do this?  Because I like reaching into the mailbox and pulling out 4 color printed catalogs with my name on them.  Because I like that I have cooler mail than my husband and because now that I’m killing trees by the dozens – I have more mail than my husband.  I can sit on the toilet flipping through a catalog while my toddler harrasses the bathtub and not worry about losing my place.  It’s my link to reality, to the outside world of gadgets and fashion.  I no nothing about world current events, but I can tell you that Kohls is having a menswear sale and I can also tell you that my husband needs new shorts (after I burn the ripped ones tonight).  Am I alone in my love of catalogs?

 

4 Responses to “I’m a Catalog Whore, And a Magazine Whore, And a Sales Flyer Whore…”

  1. btzb411 Says:

    Hello. My name is Betsy and I’m a catalog whore. It’s been 2 hours since I looked at my last catalog. I ignore people at parties while I look through the host’s catalogs & read their magazines. I’m so glad you introduced us to term “Catalog Whore”. In fact, now that you’ve named it, I’m going to stop being ashamed of it. I even know whose catalogs I want to browse the next time I’m at their house…

  2. readthemanual Says:

    Oh YES. Me TOO. Although…can you be a catalog whore and a catalog snob at the same time? I’ve been getting so MANY awesome catalogs for so long…and then when I realized that I’m broke like the rest of the world, I started getting angry at Pottery Barn for Kids. And Crate and Barrel. Do people really spend $800 on a chair with 2 coordinating slip covers for their 3 year old? Ok…maybe…and I’m going to have to read the danged catalog again when it comes next month. And Restoration Hardware. This is the stuff I pour over, drool over, want-when-i-grow-up. What stuff can I actually afford? Probably the Lilian Vernon catalog – but I think even she gave up on me.

  3. Meredith Says:

    Ok I can’t even start on my love of magazines…it goes beyond description. It. Is. My. OXYGEN!!

    As for catalogs…ooh, I love me some catalogs too. Ikea is a new fave, Gooseberry, Tender Heart Treasures, Hanna Andersson, sometimes Current if I’m feeling all holiday-ish and need cards, Chinaberry, Hearthsong, Williams-Sonoma (and I can’t cook for the life of me), and on and on and on. And we’re smack dab in the high season of catalogs…yippee!!

  4. nothingbutthepoop Says:

    I’m so SAD. I just collected enough MyRewardsCoke points to get a subscription to Real Simple Magazine! Will the insanity EVERY stop?


Leave a Reply

